25 May 2012

Mass to Air Live on Telecare


ROCKVILLE CENTRE, N.Y. – May 25, 2012 – The Most Reverend William Murphy, bishop, Roman Catholic Diocese of Rockville Centre, will preside on Sunday,
May 27, 2012 at 11:00 a.m. at the Solemn Celebration of the Eucharist inaugurating Sacred Hearts of Jesus and Mary Church (168 Hill Street, Southampton, New York, 11968) in Southampton to the honor of minor basilica.  

The Mass will be televised live on Telecare (Cablevision Channel 29/137 and Verizon FiOS TV Channel 296) beginning at 10:30 AM with a preview program.

Concelebrating the Mass with Bishop Murphy will be Rev. Msgr. Jeffrey Madley, pastor of the Basilica Parish of Sacred Hearts of Jesus and Mary.  

“I thought it would be a mark of recognition to the Catholics of the East End to have a parish with a distinguished history and a church building of remarkable beauty well supported by a congregation of faith receive this title,” said Bishop Murphy.  I believe it adds distinction to the Church on the East End as well as a recognition in which the parishioners can take pride and it will become more and more a place of pilgrimage with people from all over the island and beyond joining the parishioners in prayer and in the celebration of Mass.”  

“Basilica” is a Greek term meaning the palace of a king.  Basil means king, a basilica is his palace.  From the IV century, the term, by extension, came to refer specifically to a large and important church that has been given special ceremonial rights by the pope.  Thus the word retains two meanings today, one architectural and the other ecclesiastical.  Churches honored with the title basilica belong to two classes, major and minor.  There are four major basilicas in Rome (Saint Peter’s, Saint John Lateran, Saint Mary Major, and Saint Paul Outside the Walls) and 72 minor basilicas in the United States, in addition to more than 1500 other minor basilicas throughout the world.

Pope Benedict XVI announced the designation of Sacred Hearts of Jesus and Mary as a minor basilica in December 2011.  The designation, in addition to expressing in a significant way the union of the local Church with the Chair of Peter, brings a number of privileges with it.  A basilica church is entitled to display the Coat of Arms of Vatican City on its façade and the crossed keys of Saint Peter on all its furnishings and liturgical appointments.

A basilica is granted three traditional emblems of honor.  The first is called the Ombrellina – umbrella – symbolizing the overshadowing presence of God and protection found in the Church.  To understand the symbolism of the Ombrellina we have to remember that only a Pope can designate a church a basilica and, when he does, that church becomes in a way his church.  It is from then on a papal church.  

Another emblem is the “tintinnabulum”, a bell mounted on a post.  In the past, the miniature bell in the basilica symbolized the calling of the people to greet the approaching Pope.  In modern times it reminds people to “ring out” the goodness and the glory of God.

The third privilege of a basilica is the right to display the papal insignia of the keys of Saint Peter on the façade of the building and on its own coat of arms.  That coat of arms in vivid colors should have a prominent place in the church.

The Dedication Ceremony:
The ceremony of the dedication takes place before the solemn singing of Gloria.

And then;
•    Before the Gloria is sung, the apostolic brief elevating the church to the rank of minor basilica is read.
•    Then the basilica insignia is displayed.
o    umbrella
o    bell mounted on a pole
•    As insignias are displayed – the blessing of bells and umbrella takes place
•    Customarily these insignia are displayed in the sanctuary of the church.
•    Finally, the rector of the new basilica receives the apostolic brief from the Bishop and takes it to the sacristy.
•    The “Gloria” is then sung.
•    The Mass will then continue as usual.

About The Diocese of Rockville Centre
The Diocese of Rockville Centre ( was formed in 1957 and covers 1,198 square miles in Nassau and Suffolk Counties.  The diocese serves approximately 1,737,498 baptized Catholics (total population in both counties is approximately 3.4 million).  There are 134 parishes (1 campus parish) in 115 towns.  In 2010, 16,318 baptisms, 16,296 confirmations, 17,123 First Holy Communions and 4,773 marriages took place in the diocese.  There are 18,496 students in Catholic elementary schools; 12,328 students in Catholic high schools and 3,500 students in higher institutions.  There are 53 Catholic elementary schools (49 parish or regional and 4 private), 10 high schools (3 diocesan, 2 parish and 5 private) and one Catholic college in the diocese.  Catholic Health Services (CHS) of Long Island is comprised of six hospitals, three nursing homes, a regional home care and hospice network, and a community-based agency for persons with special needs.  More than 17,500 employees and 4,600 credentialed physicians work within the CHS system.   In 2010, Catholic Charities assisted more than 53,500 individuals who are poor, vulnerable and disadvantaged on Long Island.  (05/12).


CONTACT:    Sean P. Dolan
Director of Communications
(p) 516-678-5800, ext. 625
(c) 516-510-0473
E-mail: This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.